Nephrology in the Eastern and Central European Region: Challenges & Opportunities

Research paper by Goce Spasovski, Merita Rroji, Evgueniy Vazelov, Nikolina Basic Jukic, Vladimir Tesar, Marina Mugosa Ratkovic, Adrian Covic, Radomir Naumovic, Halima Resic, Rumeyza Kazancioglu Turan

Indexed on: 19 Jul '19Published on: 12 Apr '19Published in: Kidney International


The Eastern and Central European region of the International Society of Nephrology (ISN) includes nineteen member countries: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Republic of Serbia, Montenegro, Slovenia, Slovakia and Turkey. There are marked variations in the demographic and socio-economic characteristics of these countries, which will impact dealing with chronic kidney disease (CKD), a highly demanding issue from both economic and workforce perspectives [1].